A Small Triumph

From this point on to graduation, each small victory must be duly noted. Here is my first of what I hope will be many tiny triumphs, and this one is pretty substantial. A perfect school bag, who can find? It sounds trivial, but given some serious thought it is almost impossible to expediently settle on one as opposed to another. What could be more defining of you in those first few moment’s interaction with your classmates than that huge, book lugging apparatus attached almost permanently to your shoulder? Two years lay ahead of me, and in those two years one of the only constants will be that glorious bag, for glorious it must be. I searched everywhere, every website (and by that I mean a few hours on Amazon), every store (namely Target, Old Navy – what did I think I would find there?), thought through every option presented to me. I’m not the girl pulling her books along in a wheeled device better suited for airports, and I’m not the one giving myself a huge backpack hunchback, not even for the newer one-shoulder inventions. No, I want a bag. I want a nice, fashionable but functional, cool and sophisticated, modern but classic, expensive but cheap, fit for all seasons school bag. How hard is that? Well, it was hard, but I did it. I found it. It is everything I need. Pretty but industrial, Sleek but compartmentalized, Steve Madden, but under $30. Thank you Marshalls:

 

Yes, you are seeing four pocket compartments right in the front. It's okay. You can be impressed.

Yes, you are seeing four pocket compartments right in the front. It's okay. You can be impressed.

One Response

  1. You are absolutely hilarious, my friend. And that bag is awesome and certainly worthy of celebration.

Leave a comment