Freaking Out

Yesterday was orientation, and I’ve barely enough brain power left to record it. Of course they want to scare you, alarm you, panic you with all that talk about signing away your life for the next two years, the whole “you belong to us now” bit. Thing is, I believe them. I do belong to them, starting August 17. I’ve never belonged to anyone before. Well, maybe Sean (the husband), but nothing like an institution for learning. But really, if you’re going to be owned by someone, isn’t a college the best owner to have? I think so. Oh man though, I have no idea what’s going to happen. Getting in was hard enough. They’re pretty clear about the fact that this is the #1 nursing program in the Nation. Number one! How did I get here? There’s a big cosmic crack somewhere, and I slipped right through it, and that’s why I am absolutely freaking out. I can’t let on. They can never know, and so I have to bust my hump to make sure I post numbers just as good, no even better, than my classmates, who are now the only family I have, according to my owner. I must rely on my classmates, because they will be the only living breathing thing I will be able to interact with for four semesters. It sounds so ridiculously overblown, and yet, again, I believe them. They own me.

Leave a comment